P I A N O   3 0 0
Celebrating Three Centuries of People and Pianos

 

September Events

[Docent Tours]   [Performance Tours]   [Special Events and Concerts]  

 

Docent Tours

Tuesdays, noon, within the exhibition, by National Museum of American History docents. All tours are free and open to the public. No docent tour on September 5.


 

 

Performance Tours at the International Gallery

Thursdays and Saturdays, noon, within the exhibition. Tours begin at exhibition entrance.
Professional pianists specializing in various musical genres -- classical, jazz, traditional, gospel, and popular -- lead visitors through the exhibitions, talking about and performing on some of the historic pianos. From mid September through mid October, the tours will emphasize music of Spain and Latin America, in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month.

Saturday, Sept. 2 Marc Glickman, traditional
Thursday, Sept. 7 Liz Donaldson, traditional
Saturday, Sept. 9 Tony Walker, classical and jazz
Thursday, Sept. 14 Burnett Thompson, classical and jazz
Saturday, Sept. 16 Robert Wyatt, classical and popular
Thursday, Sept. 21 Carlos César Rodríguez, classical
Saturday, Sept. 23 Carol Bogash, classical
Thursday, Sept. 28 José Cáceres, classical
Saturday, Sept. 30 Thomas Mastroianni, classical


 

Special Events and Concerts

Friday, September 15
8 p.m.
Carmichael Auditorium
NMAH
Carlos César Rodríguez
Music of Spain recital
Gallery Talk
Jazz: The First Century
Friday, September 22
noon
Exhibition performance space
Demonstrating at the piano and with recordings, John Edward Hasse, NMAH Curator of American Music, presents highlights of the first century of jazz piano, starting with ragtime and and blues and ending with keyboard synthesizer sounds.

August events    October events


 

[Introduction] [Performances, Tours and More] [Exhibition] [Timeline]
[Credits] [Donors and Collaborators ] [Play Some Music!] [Piano Resources]

Piano 300
National Museum of American History Home
National Museum of American History
Smithsonian Home
Smithsonian